The Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts announced yesterday that it will award comedian Eddie Murphy with its Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. An annual prize, the Mark Twain award is considered to be a prestigious honor. Carol Burnett, Richard Pryor and Tina Fey are among previous recipients. Murphy released a statement saying, “I am deeply honored to receive this recognition from the Kennedy Center and to join the distinguished list of past recipients of this award.” Murphy will be honored for his “groundbreaking” comedy work at a gala event on October 18, which will later be broadcast.

Previous winners of the award include Richard Pryor, Tina Fey, Carol Burnett and Ellen DeGeneres.

Does Eddie deserve this award? Let us know in the comments below!


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 102.5 KEZK

Like Us On Facebook!
Get The App
Sign Up Today!

Listen Live