By Jeff Cornell

Dolly PartonLinda Ronstadt and Emmylou Harris will release The Complete Trio Collection in September. The set features the trio’s two studio albums as well as rare and previously unreleased tracks. The Complete Trio Collection will arrive on Sept. 9.

The three-disc set contains the group’s two studio albums: 1987’s Trio and 1999’s Trio II. The collection also features rare and previously unreleased tracks, which were all produced by Emmylou Harris.

Related: Emmylou Harris and Rodney Crowell on keeping fans in Country music

Parton, Ronstadt and Harris released their debut album, aptly titled Trio in 1987. The effort sold more than four million copies, won two Grammy Awards and topped the country album chart for five consecutive weeks. It features standout tracks like “To Know Him Is to Love Him,” “Wildflowers,” and “Farther Along.”

After more than a decade the group released the follow-up, Trio II, which also won a Grammy and sold over one million copies worldwide. It features tracks like “Do I Ever Cross Your Mind?” the Carter family’s “Lover’s Return” and a cover of Neil Young‘s “After The Gold Rush.”

The bonus disc is loaded with 20 songs, including alternate takes of album tracks like “I’ve Had Enough,” “Making Plans” and “My Dear Companion.” It also features 11 previously unreleased recordings including “Waltz Across Texas Tonight,” “Pleasant As May,” “Are You Tired of Me” and the gospel standard “Softly And Tenderly.” The set also contains an alternate version of “Do I Ever Cross Your Mind?” featuring Parton on lead vocals and an a cappella version of “Calling All My Children Home.”

In an interview with, Harris opened up about the bonus material on the collection. She said, “There’s some stunningly beautiful stuff on there, that I don’t even know why we didn’t put on the records.”

The Complete Trio Collection will be released on Sept. 9 in various bundles including a single disc, featuring a mix of songs from the set, Further Along, a double-LP set of all the bonus material and the vinyl debut of Trio II. 

The Complete Trio Collection track listing:

Disc One: Trio I

1. “The Pain of Loving You”
2. “Making Plans”
3. “To Know Him is to Love Him”
4. “Hobo’s Meditation”
5. “Wildflowers”
6. “Telling Me Lies”
7. “My Dear Companion”
8. “Those Memories of You”
9. “I’ve had Enough”
10. “Rosewood Casket”
11. “Farther Along”

Disc Two: Trio II

1. “Lover’s Return”
2. “High Sierra”
3. “Do I Ever Cross Your Mind”
4. “After the Gold Rush”
5. “The Blue Train”
6. “I Feel the Blues Movin’ In”
7. “You’ll Never be the Sun”
8. “He Rode All the Way to Texas”
9. “Feels Like Home”
10. “When We’re Gone, Long Gone”

Disc Three: Bonus Material

1. “Wildflowers” (Alternate Take unreleased 1986)
2. “Waltz Across Texas Tonight” (Unreleased 1994)
3. “Lover’s Return” (Alternate Mix – Unreleased)
4. “Softly and Tenderly” (Unreleased 1994)
5. “Pleasant As May”  (Unreleased 1986)
6. “My Dear Companion” (Alternate Take 1986)
7. “My Blue Tears” (Unreleased 1998)
8. “Making Plans” (Alternate Take 1986)
9. “I’ve Had Enough” (Alternate Mix 1986)
10. “Grey Funnel Line” (Unreleased 1986)
11. “You Don’t Knock” (Unreleased 1986)
12. “Where Will The Words Come From” (Unreleased 1985)
13. “Do I Ever Cross Your Mind” (Dolly lead vocals – Alternate Take 1994)
14. “Are You Tired of Me” (Unreleased 1986)
15. “Even Cowgirls Get The Blues”
16. “Mr. Sandman”
17. “Handful Of Dust” (Unreleased 1993)
18. “Calling My Children Home” (Unreleased a cappella Version 1986)
19. “White Snow” (Unreleased 1986)
20. “Farther Along” (Alternate Mix 1986)



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 102.5 KEZK

Like Us On Facebook!
Get The App
Sign Up Today!

Listen Live